1

We have recently required users to be logged in to access member-only discounts when booking events.

We are finding that some people are logging in and then booking on behalf of a colleague. They don't book for / attend the event themselves. They're currently missing the "Not X, or want to register a different person?" link at the top of the booking form.

So they are overwriting their own pre-filled details in the profile.

When they submit the form, eg at: https://culturalenterprises.org.uk/?page=CiviCRM&q=civicrm%2Fevent%2Fregister&id=288&reset=1

it then updates some details. Most commonly it will update the title, and email, but leave the contact first name and last name unchanged.

Is there any way I can stop CiviCRM from doing this on event registrations? When I look at the profile settings it is set to update the matching contact when it detects a duplicate, and I'm wondering if that's what is at issue here. (Though obviously I don't want to turn that off!)

I am guessing that this is intended behaviour as CiviCRM assumes the logged in use is providing updated information for themselves?

Thank you

CiviCRM 5.13.4 on Wordpress.

2

Here’s the solution to the issue you're facing – https://civicrm.org/extensions/no-overwrite

  • This looks perfect, thank you! – Robin Fenwick Jun 28 at 8:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.