1

When contacts are merged, only the log and activities of one of the contacts are kept. Part of the change history is deleted and this is not always the right way, e.g. for auditing purposes.

It would be great to have an option when merging.

2
  • If audit trail is desired then consider turning on trigger-based logging as an alternate.
    – Demerit
    Commented Feb 16, 2023 at 22:12
  • Merging two contacts should result in the saved contact ending up with both sets of Activities - have tested and confirmed this is working as expected on dmaster
    – petednz - fuzion
    Commented Feb 16, 2023 at 22:39

1 Answer 1

0

Just adding 'for the record' but not necessarily as an Answer to the core question.

Merging two contacts should result in the saved contact ending up with both sets of Activities (unless that option has been unchecked) - have tested and confirmed this is working as expected on dmaster

Contact A enter image description here

Contact B enter image description here

Merge screen enter image description here

Outcome on Contact that is saved enter image description here

The above assumes the Activities are not related to Cases.

4
  • 1
    I think the author meant civicrm_log entries, i.e. the changelog.
    – Demerit
    Commented Feb 16, 2023 at 22:45
  • 1
    ah sorry 'activities' not Activities - well since this has some nice pictures maybe I will leave for a bit before destroying :-)
    – petednz - fuzion
    Commented Feb 16, 2023 at 22:53
  • Hehe. I guess it's also possible that they did mean Activities, and that for whatever reason the checkbox on the "Activities" row on the merge screen was unchecked by default and they didn't check it. Since then it wouldn't copy over the Activities.
    – Demerit
    Commented Feb 17, 2023 at 0:59
  • Sorry for the confusion. I did mean log entries. Activities are merged as you said. I will check the trigger-based logging, but I think that it is more for admins. I would like to see which changes a contact and its memberships have had. The use case is that a person could be entered by different group admins, which are not aware of the mutual existence. When deduplicating, it would be great to have the changes combined. Commented Apr 2, 2023 at 10:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.